More booksesss

LOTS more booksesss . . .

Wheeeee!!!  I finally finally finally made my  long awaited Book Depository Order . It’s a mite overdue [like three months] due to annoying things like medical bills, and the electricity dying dramatically on a weekend, and the various house / plumbing leaks needing urgent professional attention, and work to be done on the roof and blah blah blah less important expenditure than BOOKS!

As with everything I have long long lists of books I need, divided into genre, then sub-categorised into priority, and so on.  Some time I’ll post it up for you so you can laugh at me some more.  Look, I like lists, and making lists, and especially crossing things off lists, okay???

[ Viz a viz the latter:  in one of my previous lives as an admin assistant*, at especially boring times I would write out “To Do” lists of jobs I had already done just for the simple satisfaction – and time-suck involved – of crossing them off.   I bet I’m not the only person to have at least felt like doing this. ]

[ * I have also had past lives working in politics, medicine, and marine environment research, and etc.  The marine environment research job was my absolute favourite, my dream job, utter utter bliss with the best work-mates EVER, so of course it was the one that was cut by the fucktards in Canberra.  Yup, devastating.  I’m not talking about the “etc.”, it was so grim and appalling you’d want to gouge out your own eyes to stop reading about it. ]

Listed priorities aside,  “How I Feel At The Time” does affect the ordering process.  Hence the ratio of mind-improving Non Fiction books to YA / Urban Fantasy is perhaps not as it could be  – or maybe that IS as it should be.  YA / Urban Fantasy is incredibly entertaining, while even the best neurology / genetics / physiology books are, well, kinda dry and not the sort to keep you up turning page after breathless page til 0300 unless one is cramming for an exam.

To make the genre feel less abandoned at least, here are a few Non Fictions that did not make this order but will be in line very very soon, honest:

Antonio Damasio.  Self Comes To Mind:  Constructing The Conscious Brain:  The Evolution Of Consciousness

Richard Fortey.  Life:  A Natural History Of The First Four Billion Years Of Life On Earth

Stephen Fry.  Moab Is My WashpotThe Fry Chronicles  [ Autobiographies – now these WILL be entertaining! ]

Temple Grandin.  Animals In Translation:  Using The Mysteries Of Autism To Decode Animal Behaviour

Alan J Hakim, Rosemary J Keer & Rodney Grahame.  Hypermobility, Fibromyalgia  And Chronic Pain  [ ooh a book about meeeee ]

Oliver Sacks.  The Mind’s Eye

Rebecca Skloot.  The Immortal Life Of Henrietta Lacks

And now for what I *DID* order  —

and this is bearing in mind I still have Sir Terry Pratchett’s Snuff – a pre-ordered signed copy, Maggie Stiefvater’s The Scorpio Races – another pre-ordered signed copy, and Brenna Yovanoff’s The Replacement on their way to me already — *swoon*.

Cooking!  Urban Fantasy!  YA!  And Pony Books!!!!!  [ Okay you can go ahead and groan and make faces at me about that last one but these aren’t any pony books.  And now you will just have to wait for the reviews to find out what I mean, nyer. ]

Vatcharin Bhumichitr.  The Big Book Of Noodles  [2010]

Mark Bittman.  How To Cook Everything:  2,000 Simple Recipes For Great Food  [Completely Revised 10th Anniversary Edition, 2009]  [Hardcover]

Terry & Christopher Tan.  Singapore Cooking:  Fabulous Recipes From Asia’s Food Capital  [2011]  [Hardcover]

Ilona Andrews.  Magic Bites  [Kate Daniels Series # 1]  [2006]

Kristin Cashore.  Graceling  [2010]

Suzanne Collins.  The Hunger Games  [2008]  [ I know I know, I’m the last person in the entire UNIVERSE to have read these ]

Tessa Gratton.  Blood Magic  [2010]

Tamora Pierce.  Terrier  [Legend Of Beka Cooper # 1]  [2007]

Patricia Leitch.  A Devil To Ride  [Jinny At Finmory # 2]  [1976 – Re-Issue 2010]

Patricia Leitch.  For Love Of A Horse  [Jinny At Finmory # 1]  [1976 – Re-Issue 2010]

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

