Fried Rice II

Whilst I have previously posted a generalised recipe for Combination Fried Rice, I am forced to admit that I have never, ever been one hundred percent – or even eighty five percent – satisfied with my fried rice.  Oh it tasted yummy enough but it was inclined to be sort of mooshy, and didn’t have the interesting balance of flavours that I’ve found in really great restaurant fried rice.

Some of my lack in the fried rice department was put down to my zero MSG tolerance policy; but I was pretty sure I was missing something, all the same.  Then the clouds opened, and heavenly golden light poured into my grey mooshy fried rice world, because lo! I discovered Jaden of Steamy Kitchen.  Quite how and why I hadn’t found her before is beyond me; all the food blogs I read and I missed this truly amazing one?

Jaden solved my fried rice dilemma with not just great recipes but a terrific comprehensive methodology and step-by-step instruction of the components of what makes a Great Fried Rice.  Go check out Jaden for yourself, but I’ll repeat her key teachings here, and a general recipe.

. . . . . . . . . .

There are three key components to a Great Fried Rice, outlined by Jaden:-

1.  The Rice

This is what I have gotten wrong, and why my attempts have been so misguided.  The rice has to be cooked prior to wokking and rolling, but I have always spooned my rice direct from rice cooker to wok. No no no, and again NO.  It has to be cold cooked rice.  Start the rice some hours or even the night before, and when your rice cooker pings, scoop it gently onto a baking tray that has been slightly oiled – I use canola oil but any vegetable oil would do.  Don’t squish the rice around, but allow the tray of rice to cool on the counter-top, into clumps, and when cool break the lumps down a little more.  Then pop the tray of rice into the fridge for a few hours to get thoroughly cold. 

When comes time to fry your rice, the rice will be beautifully separated and intact individual grains – no moosh.  And when frying, be ultra careful with your wok chan or chosen utensil to not squish the grains, but gently lift and turn to combine all other ingredients.

2.  Fish Sauce

Use the best Vietnamese or Thai fish sauce you can find / afford – the paler it is the better.  Go to an Asian food store [eg Kongs franchise in Perth] and ask the counter-staff.

3.  Lap cheong aka preserved Chinese sausage, although in the absence of close proximity to an Asian food store I have taken the liberty of substituting char siew / even bacon – some fatty pork product anyway!

. . . . . . . . . .

And now … see recipe below.  And once again my many, many thanks to Jaden of Steamy Kitchenwho has changed our lives forever!  [we’ve had The Great Fried Rice several times in the last month – Tuxedo has requested it specifically too].

. . . . . . . . . .

NB:  I’ve added a new page, being the Recipe Index for this bloggy thing, with linky-links so you don’t have to trawl through all the recipes archive to find what you’re after.   It’s underneath “About Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome” over to the right, top of the page.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

