Toys for grown-ups

… No no no, not those kinds of grown-up toys!  (although there may or may not be a bedside table drawer full somewhere, you know, if we were into that sort of thing).  No.  This is all further to the last post, a bit more detail on birthday presents and real estate.  Am I a tease or what?

Birthday

So I didn’t have the very best birthday this year, being in too much pain (and possibly puking) to even answer Happy Birthday Phone Calls, let alone go out to eat or celebrate in an appropriate fashion.  The pressies certainly made up for that though; in fact they made up for the whole icky month, and then some!  Especially Tuxedo’s contribution/s … I am so terribly spoiled, I really do NOT deserve it.

My family knows me well; my parents gave me a wee bit of cash, specifically to spend at the MAC counter, which stricture I obeyed last week, being the darling respectful child I am.  My big bro and his wife gave me a gift voucher to Mecca Cosmetica, I still haven’t had a chance to spend it; my second big bro gave me credit at the Swanbourne Book Café.  So, books and make up, all good.

Now Tuxedo has a history of teasing me – often for months beforehand – as to what he’s giving me for birthday/Christmas.  Successful teases have been foot spas and pink fluffy bowling balls.  This year he told me there was one gift I knew about and one I didn’t; the one I knew about was a new iPod, although I didn’t know the details.  Turned out to be a sweet 80 GB number, black, with “Shine on you crazy diamond” laser-engraved on the back.  Pink Floyd lyric, and a very, very cute, loving and Tuxedo-ish way of saying “Keep on truckin’, you insane loon”.  (also, awwwww …..)

However there was no sign or mention of the supposed “second present” and I figured that was a Tuxedo tease and forbore bravely from yelping “Where’s my second present I want my second present WHERE’S MY PRESENT.”  Because I’m all mature now, you know.

Come 28 August, when I was feeling a tad blue, partly the old sick and tired of being sick and tired thing, also worried still about the Aoife girl-cat, and it was also the first anniversary of Abigail dying (I still miss the sweet wee girl dreadfully).  Not a great trifecta.  And then my brightly-Lycra-clad bloke came home from work and I tried to put on a happy face; I turned around to get us a drinkie from the fridge and when I turned back he had a very cheeky look on his face and was hiding something behind his back.

After a few rounds of “go on, guess” he produced the item.  It looked like a large white envelope, larger than A4, one of those padded ones and a few centimetres thick.  Weighed a couple of kilos?  The ‘envelope’ was made of some rather flashy durable plasticky-foam material with silver trim.  Inside the envelope, or as much as I could tell by feel, was something flat and hard.  At this point I noticed the silver badge twinkling SONY VAIO at me and the litany of “holy shit holy shit you didn’t oh my holy shit” began.  Went on for quite some time before I actually opened the damn thing.

And out slid one of these.  Namely, a Sony Vaio CR13 laptop in pure shimmery white. So very very pretty.  Specs:  Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, DVD/DVDRW, 100 GB hard drive, 14.1 inch LCD display (that’s 35-ish cm for us metric folk), Windows Vista etc and oooohhhh it rocks.  So easy to use and fast and  nice and light for general carry around-ability and the keyboard is beeee-yootiful and, just, YUM.  Plus, of course, the whole thing of it having the “kind of” look and style of a Mac Notebook without actually being a, you know, Mac.

Talk about fucking spoiled right?  I am still in shock, over the moon and totally in love with this sweetie.  Oh yeah, also quite enraptured with the laptop.  *smirk*

House

We’ve been looking at houses to buy for ages but never saw anything we had the remote desire to take a second or closer look at.  This was mostly due to our very strict guidelines or “requirements”, which I listed of course!  Namely, a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom townhouse; with a large gourmet kitchen, big shiny bathrooms, close to the CBD – not out in the ‘burbs where we’d need a car *, close to amenities (public transport, shopping precinct, cafes and pubs, bike path), a courtyard large enough for entertaining and cat proofing but low-maintenance, within a small radius of one particular suburb, and liveable NOW (no 1920s renovator’s dreams for us).  Oh yeah, and within our price range.  You can see how much we’d have to choose from with that list, given Perth’s current market.

* we do not own a car for environmental and economic reasons, and while it can be an inconvenient pain in the arse especially in a car-driving city like Perth, it has many advantages.  And we can feel all good and smug about our carbon footprint and greenieness.  Al Gore would love us!  Oh … we both loathe and despise driving (actually that’s not true; I’m plain terrified and phobic) which has nothing to do with anything whatsoever.

Anyway.  Tuxedo spotted a good looking place on one of the real estate websites, which the best way to buy/sell, nowadays – most up to date and lots of information and photos, no need to start leafing through crap newspapers at ungodly hours of the morning to find the property went last week.  So, he spotted a place that fitted pretty much all requirements, PLUS the pictures of the house actually looked good, so off we went to the home open that weekend.  By the end of the home open (a couple of hours) we’d pretty much decided to put in an offer.  Which we did on Monday … and got accepted three hours later! 

Many will say (including my dad and eldest brother, but NOT my mum, huge surprise there as she tends to panic about decision-making) that we rushed into it it but to those evil detractors I say:  We knew what we were looking for, we’d seen heaps that had not measured up one way or another, this was pretty near perfect, and we simply HAD to get into the market now otherwise we’d be screwed, the way Perth is going.  Plus, the living area/kitchen, master bedroom and bathroom (with a bath!!!) are on the ground floor, MAJOR bonus … especially the bath.  Wheeeeeee.

We settle in October, but don’t move in until March as there are tenants there and (a) we don’t want to chuck them out, we’ll have a few months of being “landlords”, which will happily offset our own rent; and (b) gives us time to look out for good deals on furniture and stuff like that, generally get ourselves organised.  (The thought of having only a couple of weeks to move out of this place, clean up, move into new place, was giving me a severe case of the collywobbles, so I’m very content with this outcome, despite the lack of instant gratification.)

So yeah … we’re homeowners, how grown up can you get?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

