Geeking out

Shopping for Tux’s Birthday

If there’s one thing I love more than shopping for gadgets and generally geeking out, it’s shopping and geeking out for someone else.

It is Tuxedo’s birthday in over three weeks time but I’m already totally organised – a trifle OCD perhaps but a couple of gifts just may have required ordering/internet shopping and it’s always best to overcompensate.  Three fantabulous presents, each of which *I* would like to have (in my mind, that’s the best present, to give something that YOU want) (well obviously, only if you have the same tastes) (I remember only too well my brothers giving me Bruce Springsteen albums when I wanted ***blush well I was only thirteen!*** Duran Duran).

Two out of three presents are sheer divine geekery and I’m DYING to give them to him!  I don’t know how I can possibly wait until his actual birthday to hand ‘em over.  In the meantime I’ll tease him a little; just as he teased me about MY birthday present.   One of them he kinda knows about, as he’d particularly requested it and I pay attention to people’s wish lists (hint, hint); the other two he has no idea about and the second gadget of goodness will be a total surprise, I know. 

When I went shopping for it, and really ever since, I’ve been bouncing up and down going “Ooh! Ooh!”.  The sales-guy at the shop was most amused – also kinda impressed because I knew my stuff (research is a wonderful thing – from Amazon to Tom’s Hardware to … well that’d be giving it away).  Mind you it IS pretty speccy and the sales-guy said he wished HIS girlfriend would buy him a *coughcoughsplutter* instead of shirts and sweaters and shit.  Am I more excited than he?  At this moment, yes, I am.  Such a kid.

I geeked out even further that day when I slipped into the SONY shop for a dekko;  the new Bravia X Series HD Televisions are pure mind-bogglingly gorgeous – and the prices have dropped considerably.  Best of all this series can be run through one’s computer so you can play DVDs et al from there – extra-nice if one happens to have a massive wireless surround sound system – which previous HD iterations did not support.  Woohoo!  Guess we better start saving for that now, too …

…..

Okay so I folded.  Couldn’t hold out any longer.  Had to give him one of the preciousesss early.  The one he sorta knew about … Because he really was aching for it what with missing his beloved iPod (which died some months back, was resurrected briefly when he deliberately dropped it on the floor from a measured height, then expired entirely).

One Apple 80 GB iPod, in satin-y black, with a special laser-engraved message on the mirror shiny back.  Sweeeeeet.  And shiny !!!  The new iPods are so much neater and prettier than the earlier ones; not to mention the prices have come waaay waaaay down (at the online store anyway).   Somehow the sound is even better too; I don’t know how that can be, but it is.  The colour/video is very very pretty and the screen to iPod ratio is much larger.   Go Apple !!!  Strangely enough I’ve switched a new iPod further up my wish list.  His n Hers, how vewwy cute.

And Tux?  Is one very very happy boy.  And may well be getting more excited in contemplation of what else is in store for him on 19 November 2006.

…..

Ooh!  Ooh!  Ooh!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

