Update

Thank you all so much for the comments and feedback to my pain post, that kind of support and understanding means more than I can tell you. 

I went to my GP on Wednesday and spilled my guts about how bad things were going (managed not to cry, yay me!) and he winced (and looked like HE wanted to cry! Now that’s the sort of medico you want in your corner).  He’s trying me out on something totally new to me – a pain patch.  It’s just like a nicotine patch, except with narcotics, constant, slow release of.  I like trying new things! It’s supposed to last 7 days; the first one I put on peeled off after about 4 hours (maybe because of my super-soft, elasticised skin, who knows) so I whacked on another on my upper arm which has stayed put.  Supposedly takes three or so days to kick in but I had one of the best (and longest) sleeps in some time last night and am up for a short visit to a farewell drinks party tonight … so we’ll see.

I’ve also been doing a fair bit of reading into surgery and “advanced treatments” – while I have no particular desire for neuro-surgery, or electrodes stuck up my spine, I cannot help but find it intriguing in a sick kind of way.  And information is power. 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dave  On Saturday 29 April 2006 at 9:31 am

    Yay for being at the bleeding (!) edge of medical research! Also, yay for the barbecue. I’ve decided that when we get back to Ireland I’m buying some sort of a gas bbq, even if there’ll only be two days a year that I can use it. I likes me some steaks ‘n’ sossies.

  • Jules  On Sunday 30 April 2006 at 11:03 pm

    Ach never mind the weather – so long as you’re under shelter and rugged up in six layers of polar fleece and gore-tex ye’ll be right. I love BBQ’s in winter, can be v comforting – and if you take out the fat tray and leave it out in the rain then you’re saved the trouble of cleaning it yourself!

  • Andrew  On Tuesday 2 May 2006 at 4:01 pm

    Besides a 6 burner barbie will keep the neighbourhood warm, never mind yourself.

Leave a Reply

