Combination Fried Rice

Combination Fried Rice is one of the group I call “week before pay day” dishes; a truly delicious, easy, no-fuss meal one can put together with bits and pieces left over in the fridge, or the cans in the pantry. I’m good at producing meals like this – and most people wouldn’t know they were “emergency” rations.

That, in my opinion, is the sign of a good cook – being able to produce something delicious and culinarily cohesive where someone else would look in the fridge and think; “the fuck?” [I can cook superb gourmet meals too; but cooking and eating well with a non existent savings account is a useful skill set].There were about three cups cooked cold rice. I stripped the meat off half a cold chicken and shredded it; sliced three cold [gluten free] grilled pork sausages into thin diagonal rounds; halved six spring onions lengthways, then sliced them diagonally into 5 cm pieces; beat two eggs with a couple tablespoons water and made a thin flat omelette in the wok, let it cool and sliced it finely.

In the wok I heated some canola oil and stir fried about 1 tablespoon of my homemade Thai Red Curry Paste*, 1/2 tablespoon each of minced ginger and minced garlic, and the spring onions.  Turned up the heat and added several splashes each of soy sauce and rice wine, about 1/3 cup chicken stock, and a teaspoon each of dried chilli flakes and dried coriander leaves.  The chicken and sausage bits, as well as about 1/3 cup frozen peas, went in next and were stir fried til well-coated in the sauce.

Next I added the rice in large spoonfuls, lifting and turning it over until well covered with the sauce mixture before adding the next heap [if you add the rice all at once it is far more difficult to combine with the sauce stuff].

Lastly I added the omelette bits, tasted the rice to see if it needed any salt, pepper, or more soy [it didn’t, there was plenty of flavour there, and the curry paste and ginger gave a great kick].

I served it up in our big white rice bowls, and we both dug in. It was really good, the pork sausage was a great addition, giving that nice fatty pork product taste and mouth-feel of cha siu or lap cheong which I find so necessary in good fried rice.

Tuxedo went back for seconds [after finishing my serving; I am incapable of finishing whatever is on my plate, regardless of what it is or how much there is … unless it is soup or seafood]. There was still plenty over for both our lunches today.

* I make my own Thai curry and stir-fry pastes, as shop-bought pastes are never-ever-ever gluten free, and also taste harsh and metallic once you’ve tried the real thing. I always make a large batch [eg, four x 400 ml containers] and freeze it, keeping one tub in the fridge at a time. It’s fridge–life is around three months but I always use it up before then, and having big batches means I don’t run out quickly, either.  Family and friends have been known to beg and bribe me for a jar.

As well as curries – not just Thai ones, either – I use spoonfuls in stir fries, Asian soups of all kinds, rice and noodle dishes, anytime I want a big flavour boost of chillies, garlic, ginger, lemongrass, coriander, shrimp paste, and other spices. 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Jackie  On Monday 1 January 2007 at 12:07 am

    Thanks for your post, i have some new insides for my study

    Jackie

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

